Granite Industry

Quincy’s granite industry was famous the world over, with many of America’s most prominent statues and monuments sculpted from granite quarried here. In fact, the first commercial railroad in America was founded in Quincy in 1826 to transport Quincy granite to Charlestown for the construction of the Bunker Hill Monument. Quincy’s granite industry also played a role in the city’s population growth, as immigrants from Finland, Sweden, Italy and other countries settled here to work in the quarries. So prolific was the Quincy granite industry that at one point there were nearly two dozen granite quarries operating in the city. Following World War II, new, cheaper building materials led to a decline in the granite industry, with the last quarry closing in the 1960s. Yet the artistry and craftsmanship of those early stonecutters who made the term “Quincy Granite” synonymous with superior quality can still be seen in such monuments as Bunker Hill and the Titanic Memorial.

Today, visitors can see portions of the original 1826 granite railway, view many buildings and monuments constructed of granite, and the quarries themselves are popular with hikers and rock climbers. Several of the former quarries have also been filled and reshaped into the new Granite Links Golf Club.

Known as the “Church of the Presidents,” this historic church was built from Quincy granite in 1828 with funds provided by John Adams.

Hours: 

Open April 19 - November 11, Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday and Sunday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm. Group tours are available upon request.

1306 Hancock Street
Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: 617-773-0062
Lyons Turning Mill
Quarry Hills Drive
Quincy, MA 02169
Mt Wollaston Tomb Stones

One of America’s earliest garden cemeteries, the first two plots were ceremoniously purchased on May 5, 1856 by Charles Francis Adams, Sr.

Hours: 

Open dawn to dusk.

20 Sea Street
Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: 617-376-1295

Historic Preservation is underway at the Lyons Turning Mill on Quarry Hills Drive as it efforts to establish a museum to show the history of quarrying and stonecutting and its relationship to the i

Hours: 

Open dawn to dusk.

Lyons Turning Mill
Quarry Hills Drive
Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: 617-472-1322

Besides its picturesque beauty, this West Quincy cemetery is singularly significant for its association with Solomon Willard, “the Father of the Granite Industry” and noted architect of the Bunker

Hours: 

Open dawn to dusk.

Hall Place
Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: 617-376-1253

This historic site in the Blue Hills Reservation is an impressive remnant of the nation’s first commercial railroad (1826), which used horse-drawn cars to carry the massive granite blocks from the

Hours: 

Open dawn to dusk. Please respect that the railway is situated in a residential neighborhood.

75 Mullin Ave
Quincy, MA 02169

From 1630 to 1854, Quincy’s most illustrious residents and civic leaders were buried here; Henry Adams, the first Adams to live in Quincy and ancestor of John Adams; Colonel John Quincy, for whom t

1307 Hancock Street
Quincy, MA
Subscribe to RSS - Granite Industry